The Liebster Award

I have been busy with a business 10 day challenge so I can become financially independent (as I had mentioned on a past blog post) and finally drop out of the rat-race, that is beside 4 fitness challenges (on which I am on top), I have been keeping my word about walking daily. You can see my fitness activity if you have the mapmyfitness app, look me up as Tonix Rm.

So what is this Liebster Award all about? Well, it’s a tag game type of blog post. I have been nominated by Sovann who is definitely one of the five people on Earth reading this blog! Thank you, Sovann!


RULES

Here are the rules of the Liebster Award :

  • Each nominee must have under 200 followers
  • You must thank and link to the nominated blog
  • You must answer the 10 questions asked of you and propose 10 new ones for your nominees
  • You must nominate 10 blogs and tell them that they have been nominated
  • You must write a post containing the questions
  • You must include these rules in the post.

If you are nominated by me, you must answer these questions :

  1. Are you a brand new minimalist or are you an experienced one ? Brand new-ish, I had been living minimal for almost a year, but I didn’t really know it, I was just trying to make do with the resources at hand, trying to not spend more money than I was supposed to. Not getting into credit debt when I got married. Living with the basics, not acquiring stuff that isn’t absolutely necessary. Then i stumbled across a minimalism blog and found out I had been living minimal for almost a year and didn’t even know it.
  2. How did you get into minimalism/simple living ?
    By getting married and having to make do with one income to support ourselves, pay for wedding debt, stopped going out to eat & drink, stopped buying unnecesary stuff, etc.
  3. What made you start a blog ?
    I remember reading a few blogs, and thinking, “I could do that” I may suck at first, but I’ll write with sincerity and humbleness, and I’ll get better over time. Someone might find it useful, and even if nobody does, it will change ME in the long run. 
  4. What is the first thing you started ‘decluttering’ (clothes, relationships, debts…) ?
    I decluttered my bedroom as I got ready to get married, I knew I could NOT take all my stuff with me to my new house, and I didn’t want to either. So I started going through boxes and bags and things in drawers and closets, I threw away the things I no longer valued. I gave some stuff away, I boxed everything I wanted to take to my new home after the wedding. 
  5. How does your friends and family respond to your minimalism/simple living ?
    Well, I haven’t used the term with my family and friends, except for my wife, best friend, and with my business partner. Everyone else just assumes I do simple living because I must be broke due to my recent marriage.
  6. What is your favorite movie ?
    My favorite movie shocked me when I was a teenager back in the 90s, and still remains my favorite movie, and that is Pulp Fiction by Quentin Tarantino.
  7. What is your favorite type of cuisine ?
    My two favorite cuisines are Italian and japanese, but I also love mexican food and american food.
  8. Can you name one thing you wish you hadn’t bought and say why ?
    The one thing I wish I hadn’t bought (a yellow bicycle)… that’s probably it. It never really brought any value to my life, never rode it, it only takes up space, I need to get rid of it.
  9. How has minimalism/simple living changed your personality ?
    Probably, looking at money differently, as a tool and not as the goal. I also stopped getting frustrated for not having ENOUGH. Now I take advantage of the much or little I earn at my job, but I’m also doing something about my financial freedom.
  10. Have you made any concessions about the minimalist lifestyle ?
    When it comes to groceries, as long as I don’t go over budget too much, I’ll spend a little more than I’m supposed to sometimes.

NOMINEES and questions

If I nominated you, here are my questions to you…

1. How many people in your life actually know about this minimalism thing?

2. What was the strangest reaction you’ve ever gotten about your lifestyle as a minimalist?

3. Be honest, would you like to become a published author one day? (if you aren’t one already) Why or why not.

4. What was the hardest part of your journey into minimalism?

5. What (if anything) about minimalism does people in your life fail to understand?

6. What is the object in your house that you definitely couldn’t live without, and why?

7. Name three things or activities that add the most value to your life, and why?

8. Do you have a 9-5 or do you work for yourself?

9. What is the weirdest question (or the most common one) people ask you about minimalism?

10. How do you deal with friends that definitely don’t understand your lifestyle?

And the nominees are: The Florida Minimalist & MichelleTheMinimalist

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

