Going Solo

As many of you know (and have done yourselves) I want to make the jump and go into business for myself. I have to admit that I very much admire those of you who have quit the corporate rat race. I have always wanted to do the same, but I have always been afraid to do it, mostly because every time I say I want to work for myself, I almost always get the same usual response:

Why quit your day job? you’re doing good there… don’t leave a sure thing for a maybe. But what if it doesn’t work out?, look at what happened to your dad*”

*(he killed it for a few years and then his business has been slowly declining over the last 20 years)

I have let the doubters get to my head all these years, and it has only crushed my “spirit”, so to speak, however, I have no one to blame but myself.  I am now sure that is the only way to go. I don’t think I can take the abuse and the bullying I am forced to put up with at work for no reason, especially not for a crappy salary.

I could be making this money from home, no doubt.  And not only that, but I could be making way more. So why not?

Due to the fact that everyone’s concern is that I shouldn’t leave my day job without first having something already generating revenue, I will only play it safe for a while.

So, for all the concerned family members and my wife. Here is my plan:

  • I am going to start an on-line business and do that while I still put up with my day job.
  • I will only leave my day job until I can make 150% of what I make at my day job (which is easy at this point).
  • I will set up another business for my wife so that we can both be location-independent.

I57003241 am already getting the ball rolling, but I am going to need some cash in order to get the ball rolling faster.

I understand that it may take a while, but it is a reality in the making. There is no going back for me.

I would really appreciate any and all guidance / advice for me on this journey.

– Tonix

 

Leave a Reply

