I almost quit my job yesterday

I’ve been paving the way for me to quit my job as a payroll manager. I’m getting a few things ready to make the slow transition from employee to self-employed, but yesterday I finally had it.

What lit my fuse, was the fact that someone completely messed with my work and overstepped my boundaries, I had talked to her about this before, so I called her to my office and told her to sit in my chair. She was stumped. She just looked at me with a blank stare. I said, “Take my place already, I’m walking out of here“. I must’ve looked determined because when I started getting my things ready to walk out, she opened up.

She apologized and told me her side of the story, I listened and then told her my side of the story.

I even went as far as telling her that “I no longer feel like I belong here and when these things happen, it takes away the only reason left that keeps me here.” She expressed no desire to take over my spot, and I believed her*, and after I took a break to recoup, I gathered my thoughts and feelings, and decided to stay just a little longer, maybe until the end of the year, but not much longer than that.

Because of my PD, I’ve learned that this job is completely wrong for me and I’m wrong for the job. The only reason I’m still here, is the fact that it gives me some security and stability, but that is the lowest form of motivation. I’ve realized that I am completely miserable here, I didn’t major in accounting, human resources, or anything of the sort; I am a creator, not a number cruncher.

I realized that I am paying a very high price for my stability and security, it only takes two words to end it all. “I quit” That’s it, that’s all it takes.

So why do I stay? My income stream is not yet ready. I’m not ready to jump off the ledge just yet, perhaps there are traces of fear in me that I will have to go through, but as soon as one of my streams starts making some money, I’ll jump head first into the abyss of self employment.

“When you are born in a world you don’t fit in; it’s because you were born to help create a new one.” -Unknown


*I don’t think anyone would. At least no one already working here would. They would have to bring someone new, full of enthusiasm, so that a group of people here squishes it all out of him or her. That is a completely different story, fit for another post.


In the comments below, tell me about you.

1) Have you ever been in a situation like mine?

2) How did you handle it?

3) What prompted you to stay or quit?

4 thoughts on “I almost quit my job yesterday

  1. I stayed in a job too long too and the security and the stability were golden handcuffs. Do I regret it? I’m not sure. The job had advantages, not just the obvious, there were others too, and it has given me a reasonable income in retirement. This is, in fact the most free I have ever been and I can’t quite believe that I no longer have to go and do a 9 to 5 and be at some one else’s bidding. However, and it is a however, I am glad that I didn’t go when I wanted to. That would have been too soon and too precarious for me. I think you did the right thing. Play the long game, go when you are ready, when it suits you, when all your balls are lined up. Be smart and you will be out of there long before the rest even realise what is going on. And you won’t have put undue pressure to perform on either yourself or your income streams. Here endeth the lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Corinne, I stayed because I realize that it would have been a decision made on impulse. I will go, that is a fact, but as you suggested, I’ll do so when I am ready to leave, and I’ll be the first to print out my resignation letter, sign it, and hand it in… but not one second earlier. Thank you for your feedback.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sir Tonix, as you know, I just recently left a long-time gig. You’ll know when the time is right. No matter what situation you are in, there are always going to be those people pushing you to the edge. But, you are right to make it on your terms.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words, DM. I don’t know if it’s just me, but seriously, it just seems to me like I am being pushed to leave. And I have no desire to stay or get another job, especially not in payroll. I want to be self-employed, doing stuff that matter to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

