The world’s favorite drug

For the last 3.5 years, I’ve had between 1 and 3 cups of coffee every day, every day, every day. I knew coffee woke me up, but I had no idea that caffeine messes with one’s sleep cycle, and I certainly didn’t know how long the effects of caffeine last inside the body.

Honestly, I thought that having a cup of coffee would help me wake up and be alert in the morning, because “I am not a morning person“.  But now I realize that that statement is as true as “I smoke to relieve my stress“.

Some people believe it, but as with many other things, just because they believe it, doesn’t make it true. I started reading up on some facts about coffee, caffeine, and its effects, and I finally understood that, according to the National Sleep Foundation, “it takes about 6 hours for one half of the caffeine to be eliminated. ” So basically, if you drink coffee when you get to work, only 50% will be eliminated by your body just before you get off of work, what about the other 50%?

No wonder I had trouble sleeping at night, and that caused me to have trouble getting up when my alarm went off in the morning. I was one of those who would hit snooze two or three times. Then go to work feeling drowsy. I would reach for my favorite coffee mug and have one, two, or three cups of coffee during the work day, and repeat the cycle all over again. This was a vicious circle that was exacerbating the situation.

So the way to break a vicious circle is to identify the source, or reverse engineer it.

Not too long ago, I started reading about the effects of coffee, and I stopped drinking it. When I get to work, I drink water. Not too much water, about the same amount of water as the amount of coffee that I used to drink. I immediately noticed that it was much easier going to bed at night, which meant that it was easier to get up in the morning and get to work more alert. And since I was already alert, I didn’t have the need to drink coffee at work. Within a few days, I stopped feeling the need to drink coffee at all.

I used this technique and it worked out great. I can proudly say that I am off caffeine, and off nicotine, but that’s another story.

coffee

What about you? Do you drink coffee? Are you trapped in the loop? If so, do you have trouble falling asleep? How do you manage it?

2 thoughts on “The world’s favorite drug

  1. I am not a coffee addict, I am a tea pot! The British love their cuppas and although I am sure it does have some downsides from what I remember it is credited with lots of plusses. Not least the British love affair with tea meant that during the industrial revolution when the towns were cesspits of disease and squalor Britain fared rather better than its European neighbours. Why? Because the British had to boil the water to drink their favourite tipple, TEA!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That makes a lot of sense, Corinne. My wife also enjoys teas and coffee, I think she makes the best coffee in the world, the famous Mexican Café de Olla. You can find the recipe here (not my wife’s blog): http://patismexicantable.com/2011/06/cafe_de_olla/
      I found that (for me) drinking coffee every day was self-destructive. I might have a cup when my wife makes it, probably about once a month, but that’s about it. I don’t think I’ll go back to drinking multiple cups every single day. As always, thank you for your feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

