It finally happened

Back when I first started this blog, I wrote about the fact that I found out that I had been living a minimalist lifestyle since I got married, but didn’t actually know it had a name, or that there was a movement, let alone, a lot of people doing the same thing and sharing it on their blogs.

So, back at my earliest posts about minimalism, I mentioned this:

Link: MINIMALIST LIFESTYLE: WARDROBE

“Since we moved into our new home last year, we basically moved in a rush, so we used one of the rooms to put most of the stuff, then little by little, we started taking stuff out of that room as we needed it, and then placed those items where we thought they should go in the house. A few realizations came out of that:

  1. The stuff that’s still in that room are things we literally haven’t touched in 10 months (and probably won’t use any time soon).
  2. I still have bags of clothes I haven’t even opened yet, much less wear what’s in them.
  3. When I heard about the Project 333, I realized that I had been living like that for the past 10 months. (I guess I won?)
  4. If the stuff in that room makes it to ONE YEAR and we still haven’t touched it by then, I’m going to throw it out, sell it, donate it, or giving it away.”

*** UPDATE ***
Well, it has officially been a year since we packed one of the bedrooms with boxes, bags, suitcases, plastic storage containers, and all the space in between with STUFF.

When I started this blog, I said that if all that stuff made it to one year, I would be getting rid of it.

Last month, I went in that room and took everything OUT, except for my two desks and a filing cabinet. I rearranged the desks looking for a ‘home office feel’, and then I started going through the filing cabinet. I threw out every piece of paper that I no longer valued, long story short, I ended up throwing about 80% of all papers and re-filed the rest.

Then, I went through every bag, box, and storage container. I found out that deciding what I was going to keep was easier than I thought. The rest I literally chucked it all downstairs. There was something liberating about seeing clothes, magazines, and trash bags fly over 10 feet down to the lower level and landing on a pile of crap next to the front door. Eventually, I took that pile of crap and filled the garage bin, but it didn’t all fit in the bin, so I stocked boxes and bags right next to the bin for the trash people to come and pick up.

In the end, I realized that I threw out about 2 1/2 trash containers’ worth of trash.

It felt really good to finally start seeing my home office taking shape.

My work station has been set up so I can spend 3 evenings per week making my dream happen.

To keep the story short-ish, I no longer have a room full of crap, I have a small home office.

Here’s the picture of the office after the purge. Sorry, I forgot to take a “before” picture. It occurred to me to take the picture after I finished getting everything in its present place.

 And before you start saying that I must’ve put everything in the closet, I went through the closet also and only left the most important things.

So, what now?
The next step according to the personal development stuff I’ve been reading lately, I should only bring in to my office, things that encourage my new identity as a self-employed / solopreneur. Why is that? Well, in order to change from one job to another, one must first change the environment and the mind set to make the transition easier. With that said, I am supposed to take things out that remind me that I am an employee now, and reinforce the self-employed mindset. I should take calls there, write e-mails, and things like that, all from that office. Youtube, facebook and other social media will be done outside the office. You get the idea.

So, I’ll probably will end up taking more stuff out. I know I’m not done with the office in the least, but it’s a physical representation of my work in progress.

Anyway, until next time…

5 thoughts on “It finally happened

  1. I am in the process of doing the same thing! Having read your post I will go back again and start over! Getting rid of the old stuff I wrote years ago was the hardest so I didn’t!! But I will revisit and get rid now! Getting rid of the old makes room for the new and that is what this next stage is all about. One bin bag a day is my aim for the next month, that’s a lot of stuff that no longer earns a place. Good luck with your next stage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Siim, Thank you for the comment, I didn’t take pictures, but it looked like a storage room, boxes, bags, and containers filling the entire room. I didn’t think to take pictures of the “before” and the pile of crap I threw out. It feels good to sit at my tiny desk and work on my stuff… and yeah, those are Samurai swords.

      Like

Leave a Reply

