Leftover stuff

You don’t get to keep your stuff anyway.

About 10 years ago when my grandparents died, my mother inherited their house with everything inside it. There was room after room full of trinkets, mementos, souvenirs, paintings, clothes, figurines, and more old school bedding than we knew what to do with.

My mother went through nearly everything in the house, boxed a lot of stuff, gave her brothers some of the paintings and other things to remember them by. She started selling a few old lamps, gave away some other things like old rocking chairs, she began minimizing, purging, and uncluttering the house. It was then when I went through this minimizing process with my family. It took my mother, my brothers and I, about 3 years to find an equilibrium.

9021632_4546058153_b
(Not my picture)

The message was clear, we don’t get to take our stuff with us. Everything we own will be leftover when we are no longer here. Someone is going to have to go through your stuff and sort through it. Some of the stuff will be sold, some will be given away, and some will be thrown in the trash, that’s reality. My mother threw away newspaper clippings and she had no idea why my grandmother kept them. You see, if we don’t communicate why certain things have meaning to us, the meaning dies with us. It may sound harsh, but in the end, the things we consider important are only important to us, but they are trash to other people.

Watching my mom purge my grandparents’ stuff changed her and us kids. After that massive purge, my mother even started purging her own stuff. She’s become so minimalistic that she has been purging her own stuff for years now because she doesn’t want to leave us stuck with loads of her own stuff.

So, my question is this: why not start purging while we are alive and only start living with our favorite stuff? 

My goal is to be able to fit all of my possessions in one room, without cluttering the hell out of the room, obviously my car doesn’t count. I’m sure whoever gets to keep my stuff will get to keep cool useful stuff, but only a handful of stuff.

’til next time, cheers.

4 thoughts on “Leftover stuff

    1. Thank you, that happened a couple of times, once with an ex-girlfriend’s grandmother’s stuff and later with my grandparents’ stuff.

      Your last sentence is the exact point I was trying to make, I’m glad it was clear. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

