Where I’ve been… chasing freedom.

On this entry, I explain why I’ve been absent from the blogging world for so long.  It’s a long entry, and it includes a sad story with a happy ending.  

The Bonnie situation

I’ve been gone for about 8 months, I’ve been restructuring my life as a newly single guy. Yes, you read that right. In March, my ex-wife decided she would chase her dream and I wasn’t included in the plans. Yes, it broke my heart, but I didn’t want to have her around if she no longer wanted to be around, so when she told me she wanted out, I set her free.
split-break-up

She wanted freedom from a life she no longer wanted to live. I wanted freedom too, from this monotony and a day job that sucked the life out of me and made me absolutely miserable every day. Our lives were speeding in opposite directions. I helped her chase her dream every step of the way as much as I could, whether it was a lot or a little.  She helped me too, she even gave me a tablet so I could work from anywhere in the world. She wanted to become a chef and become anchored to a restaurant, I wanted to travel and work from anywhere.

photo-1446645681877-acde17e336a9In the end, we became extremely stressed out because we both were not where we wanted to be, so after a couple of months, the transition was done. So I started learning to live alone again, just like 20 years earlier when I started my college years. I reinforced and kicked my minimalism into high gear, since no one could put things in my house that I didn’t want, and no one could stop me from getting rid of things. I started getting rid of all the stuff that no longer served a purpose.

And when the house started looking pretty much empty, (with the exception of the kitchen, my office, and my bedroom) I started thinking, “why do I need this house in a private residential in the richest district in my state? for-rent-sign2 I’m not even going to live in this town for much longer anyway?“, so.. I could sell it and move to my favorite place about 4 hours away, or I could rent it out and get myself a small apartment. I haven’t decided what I’m going to do with it, but I am leaning more toward renting it out. The rent alone would be twice what I was making at my day job. So that would be nice.

Butch and Mr. Wallace

I finally quit my day job which was totally wrong for me and I was wrong for the job. Let me go back about four or five months and tell you how I did it. I started working on a side project on my own, every day after coming home, no distractions, everyday, no TV, until one day my laptop broke, so I bought a new one and kept on working. I paid it off in about 3 months (as opposed to paying it off in 12 or 18 months as the store credit suggested) I didn’t want to be stuck paying for something for such a long time, so I just paid it off in 3 months. I don’t like owing money or being tied down to a payment plan. That’s why I don’t have credit cards anymore. Anyway, I got myself a new laptop and kept working on my side hustle and got 4 clients, who have trusted me and my skills to do a good job for them.

laptop.jpg

Then I asked for my yearly vacation time at work and I went to see my brother in Houston for about 10 days. At the time I was working alone on one of the projects I was hired to do, when my brother saw what I was doing, he started helping me out and everything worked smoothly. That’s when I realized that we could partner up and start a business together. We talked about it briefly and I returned to my hometown but we continued talking about it, after a few days, it was done.

Upon my return to the office, my boss said something that changed me. He said I came back with a different look on my face. That’s right, I was on a mission. I would partner up with my brother and work from anywhere in the world. …and just like that, the fear was gone. I always knew the time would come for me to leave my job eventually, but after all the pieces started falling together, I took noticed that it was time. So I turned in my two-week notice and I felt free at last. I knew that nothing was going to happen to me financially, because I already had made some money on the side and I had saved most of it, plus other savings, and a few other things like money from renting some equipment, etc. Like I said before, the fear was gone and I was free at last.i-quit-image

On the last day, I went to work, did my thing, and at the end of the day, I put everything of value that belonged to me into a small box and walked out, but not before going to my boss’ office and saying good bye and thanking him for the opportunity he gave me over 4 years ago.

The next day, the guys (and gals) from the office organized a going-away cookout for me and most people showed up. It was a good send off. It was a very fun time.

Today, I can honestly say that working from home is a good new experience. It’s great. Now I can travel and go hiking. I’m thinking of traveling the country. I can work from anywhere as long as I have my laptop and my tablet with me.

But first, wiggle your big toe… (sorry, that was a movie reference. I couldn’t help myself)

Let me try this again… But first, I have to figure out if I’m going to rent out my house and move my stuff into a small apartment or do something completely different. All I need is a bathroom, a bedroom, a small kitchen and somewhere I can have my office. One thing is for sure, I have a feeling that I’ll be getting rid of a lot of stuff in the coming weeks.

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve been… chasing freedom.

  1. Welcome back! I have so much to say and don’t know where to start, but here I go:
    1) Congratulations on making moves. All of them. Change isn’t easy, but since crossing paths with you in the blogosphere about a year ago now, you didn’t seem to have the spirit in your work like you do now. Cheers to entrepreneurship! I have ALL the faith in the world that you will kick ass and take names. What does your new business do?
    2) I am truly sorry to hear of your split, but find you noble in supporting one another throughout tough times and recognizing your needs and happiness are important too.
    3) We seem to be leading parallel lives to a certain extent. I am happy to have seen this post at just the right time, as I am about to embark on one similar to yours.
    4) The house is the hardest part. Sell it and be free. I just feel great things are coming for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comment. That’s exactly right, I stopped blogging because there was just too much on my plate at the time. For the first month or two, I didn’t know what to do with myself, but I got through it and things started falling into place.

      My business has to do with digital marketing. I’ve been getting clients consistently for the last couple of months. I’m happy about how things are working out. I just want to be happy, that’s all.

      Again, thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment